Jewelry Tuesday – Zoya

1. What inspired you to start creating jewelry?
I started beadworking about 7 years ago, when I lived
in New York City, influenced by a friend of mine from
Russia who showed me some samples of her bead
woven jewelry pieces and presented me a few. I was so
impressed, that I decided to try bead weaving, and
since then I have designed my jewelry.

2. How long have you been making money selling your
jewelry designs?

3. Is jewelry designing your only business?>
Since June, 2008 jewelry designing has been my only
business.

4. Do you ever get in a slump in your creativity?

I wouldn’t say I’ve ever gotten in a slump, I’ve never
felt exhausted. Finished a big work, sometimes I feel
tired, but it doesn’t prevent me to think of my future
pieces.

5. What do you do to get out of it?

The best for to get out of that is to switch to easier
work, to another style, that was put previously aside,
or to learn something new for me. I really get relaxed!

6. How do you sell your designs?

Now I sell my jewelry in my studio and in the Potomac
Craftsmen Gallery at the Torpedo Factory Art Center in
Alexandria, VA. Besides, I make sales trough my website;
my old customers return to me, their friends and friends
of friends commission me.

8. What is the name of your blog?

http://gem-beaded-jewelry.blogspot.com

10. What is the name of your website?

http://www.mylovelybeads.com

11. Where do you advertise other than your website and
blog?

I send out a monthly illustrated online newsletter, that
has about 5,500 subscribers from about 45 countries, I’m
a member of a few social networks for jewelry designers,
where I showcase my jewelry.

12. What are your future plans?

I’d like to have a permanent studio at the Torpedo
Factory Art Center and set up a personal exhibition. I also want
to try designing jewelry in collaboration with a fashion
designer. My further plans are to open a beadwork school
and maybe to publish a book.

13. What advise would you like to share with other
jewelry designers?

Since you start a design, don’t give up, keep going and
finish!

Leave a Reply

