Jewelry Tuesday – Lori Anderson

Yes I’m bringing Jewelry Tuesday back. Starting off the season is Lori Anderson. Please welcome her.

What inspired you to start creating jewelry?

I fell into jewelry completely by accident. A friend brought me some beads to play with when I was on bed rest while pregnant with my son, and I made a few things. I gave them to my mom, she took them to work, and they sold that day. So I started making more, and somewhere along the line, a business started!

How long have you been making money selling your jewelry designs?

This is my fifth year making jewelry.

Is jewelry designing your only business?

It is now. When I first created my business, Lori Anderson Designs, I made greeting cards with artisan papers and vintage buttons. I sold those to a number of boutiques, but they were so time-intensive that I ended up giving them up for jewelry.

Do you ever get in a slump in your creativity?

Oh, absolutely. It hits me periodically, but I can count on it hitting me in December. I do a lot of craft shows and internet selling, so by the time Christmas gets here, I’m tired of it all and never want to see another bead again. I take a month off and it all comes back in a bit!

What do you do to get out of it?

I do things unrelated to jewelry and beads. I knit, I play games, I read even more than I already do. Sometimes, if I’m just in a little slump and am tired, I shop for new beads. That usually gets the creative juices going again!

How do you sell your designs?

I sell at art/craft shows in VA, MD, PA, and NJ throughout the year (between 20-15 shows) and I sell on my web site, http://www.lorianderson.net. I’ve had my things in stores, but I don’t actively search for wholesale accounts, preferring to work directly with my customers.

Do you have a blog?

Yes! I’ve found it to be wonderfully cathartic.

What is the name of your blog?

Pretty Things – www.prettythingsblog.com.

Do you have a website? Yes/No

Yes!

What is the name of your website?

www.lorianderson.net

Where do you advertise other than your website and blog?

Most of my sales are from word of mouth and repeat customers from my craft shows. I’ve recently started doing some Project Wonderful ads, and have been creating some ads for fashion blogs. I’m on Facebook, too, and have sold things by people seeing my work there.

What are your future plans?

I’m going to be taking more time off to try new things, and I am also in the planning stages of a new line of luxury jewelry – that will require an entirely new web site and business plan. My son wants to learn to melt glass, but I told him he had to be a little older than six to do that!

What advise would you like to share with other jewelry designers
?

Never, ever think you can’t do it. I accidentally found jewelry design after a life spent in the military, pre-med college courses, and dot.com marketing and sales. So you CAN do this, no matter how old or young you are, and no matter where you are in life.

Leave a comment letting Lori know why you want to win a $20 gift certificate to her website.
A peak at her designs.


The winner will be chosen Sunday at 6:30pm pacific time.

Leave a Reply

