Jewelry Tuesday – Samatha Rose

Rowena Watters is the Designer for Samantha Rose. You are going to love her!

What inspired you to start creating jewelry?

Pearls. I have always loved the look and feel of pearls and I can’t think of a better medium than jewelry to show it off. Along the way, I found a fascination for mined gems.

How long have you been making money selling your jewelry designs?

Less than a year. I started with an idea over two years ago, but it took another year before I incorporated Samantha Rose and another few months before the website launched for business.

Is jewelry designing your only business? No, the business of jewelry satisfies my creative self. I have a more structured business that has to do with Human Resources.

Do you ever get in a slump in your creativity?
Not so far. There are days when the business itself will require me to switch hats and drive toward a more serious and disciplined route. I do have to say that the creative route is infinitely more fun and satisfying.

What do you do to get out of it
?

Whenever I get a slump over anything, I deliberately get myself out of the physical and emotional space and attend to something else. I usually come back refreshed and ready to start again. I have not had this slump since I started Samantha Rose, though. I guess it is because I am surrounded by talent, and this helps me to stay focused.

How do you sell your designs?

I sell my pieces on the internet at this website www.samantharose.us. I have also started to explore events, shows and even craft fairs to get a feel for what will work for me. I am so new to this business I am just raring to try anything and everything.

Do you have a blog? Yes/No.

Yes, it is newly created and you can view it at this URL http://pearls.samantharose.us/. We intend to use the blog as a platform to feature our selected products in more detail and solicit customer’s feedback. We also intend to post articles about quick tips and care for pearls, and other informational resource on jewelry and new trends in jewelry in general.

What is the name of your blog?

Pearls @ Samantha Rose

Do you have a website? Yes/No.
Yes.

What is the name of your website?
http://www.samantharose.us

Where do you advertise other than your website and blog?

We advertise using Google Adwords, on popular social media sites, Craigslist.com and other appropriate avenue that will increase our visibility to our target or potential customers. We also utilize search engine optimization techniques and target keywords that have high conversion rate in the long tail of the pearl jewelry market niche.

What are your future plans? Samantha Rose will be more involved with women’s issues and women’s causes.

What advise would you like to share with other jewelry designers? Since I just started, I am not sure if I can credibly give advise … but I tell myself that when the time comes that this business becomes a drudgery, when I no longer look forward to looking at jewelry and wanting to share it, then the time has come to execute an exit strategy.

Thank you Rowena. Now if you would like to win this gorgeous necklace by Samantha Rose please leave a comment along with your email address (to contact you.) The contest will end Thursday at 7:30pm pacific time.

Leave a Reply

