Jewelry Tuesday – Manic Butterfly Jewels

By

This week please welcome Manic Butterfly Jewels.

What inspired you to start creating jewelry?

When I was growing up my parents encouraged my creativity. I took knitting, crochet and macrame classes, entered drawing and art competitions at school, and regularily ordered materials from craft catalogs to make little items for myself and my friends. One day a few years ago, my daughter and I were searching the internet for sterling silver charm bracelets, and we discovered how little it would cost to make them ourselves, so we ordered the individual materials. While looking for instructions on how to make the bracelets, I discovered so much information on making other types of jewelry-and once again-I was back to creating!

How long have you been making money selling your jewelry designs?
Almost since I first started. My daughter worked at a hair salon and took my jewelry to work with her to sell, and then it was word of mouth from there.
Is jewelry designing your only business?
Yes it is.

Do you ever get in a slump in your creativity?
I go through periods where I’m not in a ‘creative’ state of mind, and focusing on other things besides my jewelry. I’m always coming up with new ideas in my head from shapes and things I see day to day-I try to jot down a picture of what’s in my head when possible. Then suddenly the mood strikes, I’ll sit down at my work bench, and all of the ideas I’ve stored up in my head start coming out. I’ll work on many pieces and do almost nothing else for a while.
What do you do to get out of it?
I mostly wait until inspiration comes and the urge hits me to start working on the ideas I’ve been thinking of.

How do you sell your designs?
I have a website where I sell my jewelry, also through my daughter and word of mouth.

Do you have a blog? Yes/No
Not yet-I’d like to do that sometime in the future.

What is the name of your blog?
N/A

Do you have a website? Yes/No
Yes I do.

What is the name of your website?
Where do you advertise other than your website and blog?
I’m also on the Jewelry Designer Network, Myspace, and numerous other networking sites.

What are your future plans?
To gain more exposure for my work, allowing me to advance sales. I’d like to branch out into other mediums, such as working with different types of metals in my designs.

What advise would you like to share with other jewelry designers?
Price competitively, be original, and spend as much time as you can networking!

Please leave a comment for your chance to win Manic Butterfly Jewels gorgeous necklace. Its so pretty I want it!
Contest will end Wednesday 7:30pm Pacific Time