Jewelry Tuesday – Jewellery by Erin

By

Welcome for the 2nd time Erin – Jewellery by Erin. Also today is her birthday, Happy Birthday Erin.

1) What new and exciting creations have you made?

I started practicing with wire wrapping and wire working a few months ago. I’ve only just become adept enough to make consistent shapes. I’m also working with jumprings a lot more to make chainmaille-type pieces.

2) Has your business gone through any changes?

I was focusing a lot of time and energy on jewellery-design and crafting. Given that my current customer base is so limited, it was a disproportional amount. I have cut back to only working on jewellery by erin on Tuesday and Thursday evenings and on Saturday mornings, when I am at my market stall.

3) What inspires you in your creations?

I’d say my biggest inspiration is my customer. My favorite pieces to make are custom commissions. Recently, I made a pair of earring for a mother of the groom. We had a meeting where she brought her dress and we discussed colours and brainstormed a design. It was challenging, because she wanted something unique that I had never tried before; the end result was spectacular and I was really proud of it.

4) How do you announce special sales?

I usually announce them with a blog entry, a sidebar notice on my website, and in my etsy.com store announcements.

5) Do you have a special sale going on now?

Actually, I have. Today is my birthday, and I am having a 50% off sale on all items in my jewellerybyerin.etsy.com and jbebridalboutique.etsy.com stores.

Additionally, 20% of all sales made before September 20, 2008 will be donated to The Children’s Wish Foundation.

6) Share a huge lesson that you’ve learned while selling your designs?

When I first started making jewellery for sale, I was trying to meet all the needs of any potential customer. You can still see that in the designs in my etsy.com store. Lately, I have come to realize that it is better to focus my talents. It’s an ongoing process, but I’m working on finding my niche.

Erin has agreed that the winner can choose to have a piece custom designed (max retail value of $50) or pick any item in my etsy.com store.

Please leave a comment and enter to win an one of a kind custom design jewelry piece by Erin. Contest ends tomorrow, Wednesday at 7:30pm pacific time.