Jewelry Tuesday – Tracy Cox- Jealousy Jewels

I am happy to introduce Tracy Cox of Jealousy Jewels.

What inspired you to start creating jewelry?

I was turned on to designing jewelry when I volunteered to help a friend’s mother make jewelry for her daughters wedding party. We made some basic necklaces and I absolutely loved it! I have been creating jewelry ever since!

How long have you been making money selling your jewelry designs?

I didn’t really start selling my jewelry until about 3 years ago, prior to that I only sold to friends and family that approached me and asked to purchase something.


Is jewelry designing your only business?

Yes! It takes a lot of time and devotion to run a business and I give credit to anyone that can successfully run one business, let alone more!

Do you ever get in a slump in your creativity?

Of course, just like life there are ups and downs to my creativity. I feel less creative when life becomes too busy and hectic!


What do you do to get out of it?

It always helps if I can take a “break” from life. Sometimes I just sit out in my backyard by the pool and water-fountain and listen to the sound of the water for a while. It’s very calming and allows me to connect back with my creative side.


How do you sell your designs?

I primarily sell my designs online through my personal website site and Etsy. I also sell to friends and family and via word of mouth.

Do you have a blog? Yes/No

Yes, I finally created a blog over the last couple of weeks! Although it is still “under construction” I would really appreciate it if people would come by and check it out! http://www.jealousyjewels.blogspot.com

What is the name of your blog?

Jealousy Jewels, by Tracy


Do you have a website? Yes/No

Yes, My website is currently my primary means for selling my jewelry.


What is the name of your website?

Jealousy Jewels (jealousyjewels.com)

Where do you advertise other than your website and blog?

I currently advertise on the wonderful networking sites that I belong to, I purchase ad spots with websites that I feel fit well with my own business, advertise on the Knot.com, and I also network every chance I get!

I also like to participate in sample bags, giveaways and donations. It gives me a chance to get my name out there and do a good deed at the same time!


What are your future plans?

I hope to grow my business so that my business name and jewelry are well known and carried in boutiques throughout the United States.

What advise would you give other jewelry designers?

It’s always important to follow your dreams, but you have to do so in an educated fashion! Educate yourself on what is takes to actually run a business. I feel that it’s also extremely important to know your product and who your target market is. The competition in the jewelry business is steep; there are a lot of great designers so it is important to know both the business and the craft side of things!


Tracy this necklace is so pretty! Leave your comment to get a chance to win! Contest ends Wednesday at 7:30pm Pacific Time.

Leave a Reply

