Jewelry Tuesday – Sage Jewels

This week as my Jewelry Tuesday interview/Giveaway I want to introduce Lisa Marie Glover, Designer of Sage Jewels.

What inspired you to start creating jewelry?

While serving as the first African American female Transportation Planning Manager for Henry County Georgia and walking with my best friend/college roommate from breast cancer patient to survivor, I started to look for an creative outlet. As a child my mother made jewelry designs and sold them at flea markets, so I was familiar with the craft.

As I a started designing pieces, I realized that this outlet let me turn off the voices of everything in my head. It helped me to become more relaxed and I slept better at night. So as people began to ask me about purchasing my pieces, Sage Jewels was born.

How long have you been making money selling your jewelry designs?

I am now entering in to my 4th year selling my jewelry designs. I really enjoy it and currently investigating online selling opportunities.


Is jewelry designing your only business?
No, I also have a transportation planning consultancy firm

Do you ever get in a slump in your creativity? Sometimes, but very rare. If I am focused on a deliverable for one of my transportation projects, I generally put my designing on hold. This is my stress therapy without the doctor.

What do you do to get out of it? Making jewelry helps me to turn off the other voices in my head, be it from serving as President of my Homeowners Association, being Corresponding Secretary for my sorority chapter, to a project with my transportation consultancy. When you are creating and beading your focus is on getting the bead on the string and creating something beautiful. This is stress therapy for me.

How do you sell your designs? I sell my Sage Jewels through friends and repeat customers and wearing them and I do home parties and presentations.

Do you have a blog
? No

Do you have a website? Yes

What is the name of your website? Sage Jewels – for those with an astute taste in jewelry designs
http://www.sagejewels.net

Where do you advertise other than your website and blog?
I post my designs on all Social Networks I belong to, along with Myspace and FaceBook. My designs are also sold at Arts Clayton Gallery in Jonesboro, Georgia. I also contribute to various non-profit silent auctions locally and nationally.

What are your future plans?
Sage Jewels is a part of my retirement program. It is my goal to design and create jewelry after retiring from my professional career. I am working to get my designs in boutique stores and online boutiques. I am also working to get some into film projects and in print, preferably worn by some celebrities.

The piece I wish to submit for your give away is:

Necklace and earring set made of pineapple quartz chips, jade, and pearls (rice, freeform and triangle pendant) all components are sterling silver.

Please leave a comment telling Lisa why you would like to win this beautiful set. Winner will be chosen on Wednesday at 7:30pm Pacific Time.

Leave a Reply

