Jewelry Tuesday – Dawn Ireland, The Beaded Angel

By

This Tuesday please welcome Dawn from The Beaded Angel.

What inspired you to start creating jewelry? I had actually been wanting to take a beading class for awhile. Then in October 2005 my husband went to Iraq. So I took a basic beading class. From that moment on, I couldn’t stop making jewelry. I made so much I decided I had better start selling it! I opened a web-site and started doing local Art Shows, It took off from there.

How long have you been making money selling your jewelry designs? Since December 2005


Is jewelry designing your only business?
Yes, I am lucky enough to have a supportive husband, so through the ups and downs, I continue on.


Do you ever get in a slump in your creativity?
Definitely!

What do you do to get out of it? I do the paperwork side of business, list in my Etsy shop or look through my beading books or Flickr photos for inspiration.


How do you sell your designs?
Through my web-site, Etsy shop, Art shows, Bazaar’s and word of mouth.


Do you have a blog?
Yes, although I have been not giving it much attention lately!


What is the name of your blog?
The Beaded Angel ~ http://www.thebeadedangel.blogspot.com

Do you have a website? Yes

What is the name of your website? The Beaded Angel ~ http://www.thebeadedangel.com


Where do you advertise other than your website and blog?
I have an Etsy shop, which has a link through my web-site, I participate in the forums there. I also have my photos on Flickr, Hand out business cards whenever I can. I also have my company name and web address stenciled across my back window of my car, It really works great.


What are your future plans?
To keep building the business and do more wire work and learn to solder.

What advice would you give to other jewelry designers?
Never give up. As discouraging as it can be sometimes, hang in there and just keep working at it. It doesn’t happen over night. For me it took about a year to see the results.

Dawn has offered to giveaway a gorgeous pair of earrings. Please give her a comment to let her know how much you would love to win them.

The giveaway will end Wednesday at 7:30pm Pacific Time. Winner will be chosen by random.org.