Jewelry Tuesday – Tracy La Rue

This Tuesday I get to interview Tracy La Rue from TLC Silver Jewelry.

What inspired you to start creating jewelry?
In March 2006 I started selling stuff on ebay because I wanted to quit my day job. I figured out real quick jewelry would take up less space in my house than all the kitchen ware and home decor that I was selling and I already loved silver jewelry. While I was looking for places to buy jewelry wholesale cheap I found out that I can make beaded jewelry cheaper than I could buy jewelry. I have always been a hands on person so it was easy for me to start.

How long have you been making money selling your jewelry designs?
I have been selling jewelry I make for about 2 years now.

Is jewelry designing your only business?
Yes, I sell ready made and handcrafted jewelry and jewelry holders.

Do you ever get in a slump in your creativity?
Sometimes, not often. My main problem is making time for jewelry designing.
What do you do to get out of it?
I look at jewelry related magazines, catalogs, books, at jewelry others are wearing.
How do you sell your designs?
Thru my website.
Do you have a blog? Yes
What is the name of your blog?
The Lang company Silver Jewelry’s Blog http://www.tlcsilverjewelry.blogspot.com
Do you have a website? Yes
What is the name of your website?
The Lang Company Silver Jewelry http://www.tlcsilverjewelry.com
Where do you advertise other than your website and blog?
Pretty much anywhere that’s free. I trade links with others. MySpace, LinkedIn, Merchant Circle, Divapreneur, iEmporium, Froogle, Squidoo, Linkreferral, different forums, StyleHive.com are the ones I can remember right now. I also participate in the MomPack fillers group. In the group you send your advertising materials to each other and send out the advertisements in your orders or hand them out wherever you want. There are more places I want to advertise but I just have to find the time.
What are your future plans?
My main goal is to get enough steady sales so I can quit working for other people.
What advise would you give other jewelry designers?
Don’t get discouraged if everyone doesn’t like your jewelry. There are tons of different styles and you will find the people who like yours or they will find you.

She has generously offered to give away:
Sterling Silver Vaseline Glass Bead Earrings

ABOUT VASELINE GLASS
Vaseline glass has been used for over 100 years to make kitchenware, home decor objects and jewelry. What makes vaseline glass unique is the fact that it will glow a bright neon green color when it is exposed to an ultraviolet or blacklight. This glowing effect happens because DEPLETED uranium dioxide is an ingredient in the manufacturing of the glass. If you aren’t familiar with this style of glass do an internet search for “vaseline glass” and you will see all types.

Please let Tracy know why you would love to have her earrings. Winner will be chosen Wednesday at 7:30pm by random.org.

Leave a Reply

