Jewelry Tuesday – Audrey Busike

Another Tuesday another Jewelry Designer. This week I would love for you ALL to get to know Audrey Busike.

What inspired you to start creating jewelry?
Wow…how do I condense the story? There were many things going on inside me and our lives when this idea hit. I was coming out of a healing period from cancer treatment and becoming very hopeful that it was behind me. I was full of JOY, and so thankful that I was still around for my family. I had this overwhelming desire to create beautiful things. I started occasionally treating myself to pretty pieces of jewelry I would buy online. Also at this time, we were struggling financially because of a nightmare remodel of our home, and I was feeling like I needed to find some way to contribute financially to the home without going outside the home to work. I had been praying about finding a way that I could have time for ministry, be creative by making beautiful things and expressing all my bubbling over JOY, and earning some income while doing it, on top of the home and family. Trying to keep this long story short, I had purchased a bracelet, and when I received it, I decided I didn’t like one of the charms on it, so I decided to remove it. I was in my bathroom getting ready to go somewhere and in a huge hurry. I wanted to wear my new bracelet, so I grabbed the closest thing I could find which was a tweezers to help me pry the loop open that was holding the charm on the bracelet. As I doing this, I became aware of the mechanics of the braclet and how simple it would be to put together, and then blamo, it hit me, “This is too easy, I can do this!” “Maybe, I can make and sell jewelry online.” “I can be creative, earn money, express my JOY and minister to people.” And, from that point on, it all began and I’ve been hooked every since!

How long have you been making money selling your jewelry designs?
I started selling my JOY Jewels in April of 06.

Is jewelry designing your only business? Yes!

Do you ever get in a slump in your creativity? Very rarely.

What do you do to get out of it? I just take a look at anyone’s jewelry, including my own, or at God’s big beautiful earth, and I’m inspired all over again.

How do you sell your designs?
I sell my JOY Jewels through friends and repeat customers and wearing them, online at my new Etsy Store, and I do home parties and presentations.

Do you have a blog? No.

Do you have a website? Yes.

What is the name of your website? JOY Jewels by Audrey @ http://www.JOYJewelsbyAudrey.Etsy.com

Where do you advertise other than your website and blog?
To date, I have not officially advertised. I do post pictures and my store banner on my Myspace profile page. I’m just recently researching ways to network and advertise my wares. I am taking my time learning how it all works on the internet. I do have an email customer listing that I call my ‘JOY Jewel Alert’ that I post announcements of my new creations and upcoming sales.

What are your future plans? After reseaching and finding more ways to advertise online, I will be working on designing some new lines that I can sale in boutiques. My goals are to remain my own boss, to keep doing what I enjoy, earn an income, and be able to manage my hours so that I can be home most with my family and church family.

Audrey has generously decided to give away this gorgeous All Sterling Silver chain and components, 4mm, 6mm, 8mm Bicone, Rose and lite Rose Swarovski Bicone Crystals with AB finish the “Sweet in Pink” necklace. If you would love to own this please leave us a comment as to why you would love to have this JOY Jewel by Audrey. The giveaway ends Wednesday at 7:30pm Pacific Time.

Leave a Reply

