Jewelry Tuesday – Designer Jewellery by Erin- Giveaway!

By

Hello and welcome to Jewelry Tuesday. I have a waiting list 10 long. I am really excited that when I decided to add a giveaway to my Interview that people didn’t runaway. If you would like to be added to my waiting list and I have contacted you, please send me an email.
Please welcome to my Jewelry Tuesday blog, Erin.

What inspired you to start creating jewelry?

In December 2006, a few months after my divorce, I joined my mother on a bead shopping trip, and I was drawn to the colours. I started off just stringing beads for the fun of it, making memory wire bracelets from seed beads. I never really wore jewellery myself. A year later, with the encouragement of my new partner, I decided to completely makeover my personal style, which included adding jewellery to my daily wardrobe. I made a few simple pieces, started buying beading and jewellery magazines, and learn some more complex techniques. Soon enough, people were complimenting my jewellery and asking if I could make pieces for them. By the end of January 2008, I had made my first few sales and I was hooked. I created a Facebook group promoting my business, and completely by surprise an old high school friend approached me to design and craft her bridal party jewellery.

How long have you been making money selling your jewelry designs?

I’ve only been selling jewellery for about 5 months.

Is jewelry designing your only business?

My partner and I also dabble in photography, although we have not sold any photos yet.

Do you ever get in a slump in your creativity?

I haven’t been making jewellery long enough to have had a creative slump, although I’m certain I am not immune to them.

What do you do to get out of it?

I think that when I do experience this, taking a break will probably be my best bet for recovery. My partner and I enjoy taking day trips to local historic sites and national parks, where we photograph pretty much anything that stands still for long enough, and sometimes even those that do not stand still at all – we have MANY blurry photos of birds in flight and squirrels in scurry.
We are also involved in an independent film-making association (http://www.eagle-wolf.jacermedia.com/) which can act as a welcome distraction.

How do you sell your designs?

I have some pieces on consignment in a couple of local shops. I have a stall at the local Farmer’s Market. I have an etsy.com shop (jewellerybyerin.etsy.com) and I am launching a separate shop for my bridal designs (jbeBridalBoutique.etsy.com) – I am currently “renovating” those shops and will be launching them on June 9, 2008.

Do you have a blog?

Yes

What is the name of your blog?

jewellery by erin (http://www.jewellerybyerin.com/blog)

Do you have a website?

Yes

What is the name of your website?

http://www.jewellerybyerin.com/

Where do you advertise other than your website and blog?

I have an ad on Indiego.

What are your future plans?

I am looking into jewellery design courses offered locally or online.
I have registered as a craft vendor at all this summer’s local fairs, festivals, and events.
I am in talks with a local bridal shop regarding partnering to offer custom jewellery design to their clients.
I have other plans, but for now I’m taking baby steps, since I am really just starting out.

What advice would you like to share with other jewelry designers?

Networking. I cannot stress enough the importance of making contacts. When I first started out, I thought that the best use of my time and resources would be targetting potential clients. I have since learned that building a rapport and reputation within the community of jewellery designers is much more important. It stands to reason that potential clients are more likely to take you seriously as an independent producer of ANY product, if fellow producers of that product respect you and your work.

Aside from that, just go for it, if you are already spending time and money making jewellery, then you really don’t have all that much to lose. Organize a jewellery show and sale – a girl’s night in your own living room, or bring a selection of pieces to your office. Register for a table at a local craft fair. There are plenty of low-risk ways to get your toes wet and see whether the independent business operator bug will bite you too.

We are fortunate that Ms. Erin is thrilled to give away a set (necklace and earrings) of formal jewellery in an effort to promote her custom bridal design services. Please leave a comment about how much you would love to win Erin’s jewelry. Please leave your name/email address so we are able to contact you if you are the winner.
Winner will be announced Wednesday at 7:30pm.
Stay tune!