Jewelry Tuesday – Designer Elaine Haydon Giveaway

By

I have decided to turn up the heat on my Jewelry Tuesday Blog that now includes a giveaway by the designer. All you have to do is post your comment and include your email address for the designer and myself to contact you if you should win. Winner will be selected on Wednesday at 12:30pm Pacific Time by random.org.

What inspired you to start creating jewelry?

It sort of started as a challenge. My mom went to Paris and fell in
love with a necklace that she saw there. When she got back, she
regretted
not buying it. She said to me “I bet you could make it for me.” So, I
walked into a bead shop for the first time, bought stones &
materials &
just started experimenting. I found that I absolutely loved it. It was
almost addictive for me. The necklace that resulted from that ended up
being really different and unique & she was thrilled. But, When
strangers started asking her where she bought her necklace so that
they could
get one too, I knew I was on to something.

How long have you been making money selling your
jewelry designs?

I’ve been selling my jewelry for about 4 years now.

Is jewelry designing your only business?

Yes.

Do you ever get in a slump in your creativity?

Not often, but it does happen occasionally.

What do you do to get out of it?

I find that taking a break from it helps. I will go to the beach with
my kids or go shopping or do something that completely takes my mind
off of it..Then, when I least expect it, I have all of these design
ideas
that seem to have come out of thin air.

How do you sell your designs?

Via my online store, Etsy, and through home jewelry parties.

Do you have a blog/website?

I do have a website, but I do not currently blog.

What is the name of your blog/website?

http://www.elainehaydonjewelry.com

Where do you advertise other than your website and
blog?

Mainly through word of mouth. The best advertisement for me has been
through my repeat customers. I also have shops at Etsy, icraft and
Mintd. I have gotten exposure through those shops that I would not
have
gotten anywhere else.

How do you feel about other jewelry designers?

I feel almost a kinship with other jewelry designers. Jewelry
designing is such a passionate thing. We all have this extreme
passion for
what we do. It’s very personal. I’m inspired by the successes of
some &
driven to contiue my pursuit in building my business.

What are your future plans?

I am planning to approach Brick and Mortar stores this year. I have
not taken that leap as of yet.
My goal is to have my jewelry in 6 stores by Holiday.

What advise do you have for other jewelry
designers?

Never give up! If you are passionate about what you are doing, you
will find your niche.

Elaine is giving away andalusite & smoky quartz earrings ! Oh those are very lovely, don’t you agree? Leave your comment about how much you would love to have these beauties.