Special Guest Blogger – Elana Pruitt

Several months ago I asked Elana to special guest blog on what was then, my recently new blog. Being a new blogger I wanted all the help I could get. I wanted people to link to a page that they looked forward to reading. I am still in the process of creating that place and with the help of friends and special diva’s. It’s coming along quite nicely I might add. I’m grateful to all of you who have subscribed to my blog and that contest is still going on until May 30th. I’m also grateful to Elana.

Shopping for the Right Words

Have you ever been in that boat? You have soooo much that you want to explain to the world, to your readers, and to yourself that it gets stuck. So you shop for the best words to communicate what you’d like to blog about, but it still doesn’t sound right. It isn’t deep enough. Or, it doesn’t fully tell a story. Well, that’s basically what I’m trying to do now as my fingers type, my head sways with this rhythm, and my stomach full from the best Mexican eatery in Rancho Cucamonga, Calif. – Los Jalapenos.

(But Raquel is too wonderful and sincere to pass up the opportunity to guest blog for House of Raquel.)

For me, shopping for the right words is nearly identical to my experience when shopping for new heels. As I stroll along the sales rack as well as the new arrivals, I know that I have a story to tell and my personality to best express. Yet, the red is always too dark… the pattern has been done before…and the 4-inch heel just doesn’t work well as an everyday work shoe. So, I let the styles resonate with me as I turn away; only going back when I have a clearer idea of what I want and have faith that I will find the piece that matches my desire (and budget!).

…And when I land the right shoe and find the right words to say, the world makes sense again.

This is why my career as an editor and personal shopper are merging into an explosion of creativity. Shopping for the right words is like shopping for the right fashion, and I truly believe it takes one to know one. I am the Good Girl Gone Shopping and I can’t wait to help you communicate what you’ve always wanted to say.

Elana Pruitt can be contacted at elana@talkingchic.com or (909) 997-3216 for interviews, freelance projects, and/or to schedule consultation or shopping appointments.

Leave a Reply

