Jewelry Tuesday – Parthena Black


I’d like to introduce to all of you Parthena Black. Another fabulous Jewelry designer.

What inspired you to start creating jewelry?

I love crystals and had unsuccessfully tried to wrap one on my own a long time ago. I found some instructions in a magazine and gave it another try. It was much easier than the first time and I was immediately hooked. I found Mark Lareau’s “All Wired Up” and taught myself every technique in his book within a month.
>>
>>How long have you been making money selling your >>jewelry designs?

Since 2003
>> >>Is jewelry designing your only business?

I’m also a writer and served as the Dreams site editor at Bellaonline.com, the second largest women’s website in the world for a year. I’ve had some brief articles published in Sage Woman magazine and Llewellyn Publications. I also sculpt one of a kind figures in polymer clay and just signed on as an Ambassador with Barefoot Parties and as a consultant with Jafra Skin Care.
>>
>>Do you ever get in a slump in your creativity?

Oh yes!
>>
>>What do you do to get out of it?

It’s usually caused by doing too much without a break or by not being able to decide where to go with a piece and then it’s hard to pick it back up again. I push myself to make a commitment to working on my jewelry and following through. I call it hitting the “resume” button.
>>
>>How do you sell your designs?

I started by giving pieces as gifts to friends and co-workers, who help create a word of mouth sale when people ask them about their jewelry. I have a booth at a local antiques and collectibles mall and I will be selling online soon.
>>
>>Do you have a blog? Yes
>> >>What is the name of your blog?

Dreams, Visions and Reality
http://parthenablack.wordpress.com/
>>
>>Do you have a website? Yes
>>
>>What is the name of your website?
Parthena Black – Dreams In Polymer Clay And Wire
http://parthena-black.webnode.com/
>>
>>Where do you advertise other than your website and >>blog?
I currently take advantage of social networking sites like Divapreneur and Top 100 sites.
>>
>>What are your future plans?
My goal is to market more of my pieces online and locally and to expand my website and advertising.
>>
>What advice would you like to give other jewelry >>designers?
Be a walking advertisement by wearing your jewelry and focus on showing it locally, where you have a better opportunity to form relationships with your customers. Network with other artists and don’t be discouraged by mass-produced and mass-marketed accessories. Be confident in the quality and uniqueness of your work!

Thank you Parthena for granting me an interview. I wish you lots of success!

Leave a Reply

