Jewelry Thursday – Sharon A. Williams SAW

By


Being a member of Divapreneur I have the honor of getting to know many women doing business. Lots of them are jewelry designers and I enjoy blogging about their businesses. Being a jewelry designer myself, I’ve noticed that many feel they are in competition with one another and shy away from getting to know one another. I love learning about each one. I hope you enjoy my interview with Sharon A. Williams. Her business is SAW.

What inspired you to start creating jewelry?
“The Artist’s Way” by Julia Cameron – I did this 12 week course after the last art gallery I had managed for 14+ years closed. I was at a cross roads in my life and I took time off to contemplate my future. I met at least 15 women over a 6 or 7 month period in such serendiptious ways who all told me about the “The Artist’s Way” and that I would discover my path thru it. All of these women had taken the course and all of them discovered their path when they were finished.

How long have you been making money selling your jewelry designs?

I established my jewelry business in 1998

Is jewelry designing your only business?

I am a private art dealer in paintings and American Indian art

Do you ever get in a slump in your creativity?

Every artist hits a slump at one time or another for a multitude of reasons. For instance, an overload of stress can create a blank canvas in my mind.

What do you do to get out of it?

I visit museums, antique shops, galleries, high-end stores, old haunts – I take a drive along the ocean, I go for a walk at the beach – I enjoy a fine wine, champagne or drink – I listen to great music – I go dancing – I go for a swim – I take a bubble bath – I look thru magazines – I go to art and jewelry shows – I speak with other designers and artists – I work out – the list is endless

How do you sell your designs?

Trunk and gallery shows, magazine editorials, fashion shoots, direct mail, my website, referrals, wearing my jewelry, etc

Do you have a blog? Yes/No

No – I don’t have the physical or mental time to do a blog – maybe in the future but not now

Do you have a website? Yes/No – Yes

What is the name of your website?www.sharonawilliams.com

Where do you advertise other than your website and blog?

I have advertised in various magazines and I set up profiles on the following sites: TalentDataBase.com, Fashions.org, ModelRun.com, IQONS.com, Kudzu.com, Multiply.com, Ryze.com, WomenTies.com, MySpace.com, Facebook.com, ModelMayhem.com, Models.com, iPROMOTE.com, Harsanik.com, NirvanaMag.com and Slide.com for photos

What are your future plans?

I plan to continue designing jewelry as long as I enjoy the work and the journey in life. I want more exposure thru magazine editorials and fashion shoots for my jewelry. I may consider trunk and gallery shows again. As for the paintings and American Indian art that I broker, this is a lifelong ambition.

Any words of advise for other jewelry designers?

Never give up on yourself, your dreams or your goals. Competition is keen in the world today, but a truly creative and artistic person can offer something unique and beautiful that will be a focal point of joy for the wearer as well as the observer. I think one of the biggest challenges a designer faces is to be original and not follow the masses. An interpretation or expression of the history of a culture, its designs, materials and colors in a fresh approach is a wonderful way to experience the past with a modern twist. One of my pet peeves is the cookie cutter mentality – anyone can do that. It takes more than copying to think outside the box, be creative and artistic and offer originality.

Thank you Sharon. Her website again is www.sharonawilliams.com. Check it out.!
I don’t have a jewelry designer lined up for next week, if you’re one and would like to be blogged about. Send me an email at raquelroysdon@yahoo.com.